a A

Should funerals be planned?

We all know that it is better to act today to prepare for tomorrow. Most of us proceed in this manner when dealing with issues such as health, retirement or our finances. However, we often avoid discussing planning our own funeral or the funeral of a loved one. Funeral planning has never been so easy. Our funeral directors can help you ensure that your funeral will proceed as you wish. We can spare your relatives the burden of making difficult decisions during these times of mourning.

Funerals are an event that occurs only once in a person's lifetime. They deserve to be distinguished in an enduring manner.

Meeting with a funeral director to complete funeral prearrangements is simply a matter of knowing the different options and prepaying for services, funeral merchandise and expenses, as applicable. A range of payment methods is proposed, from a single payment of the total to easy monthly payments which you can spread out as you wish.

Funds paid to Lamarre & Son Funeral Home after signing a funeral services prearrangement contract will be deposited into a trust account and held until the contract beneficiary dies, as required by the Funeral, Burial and Cremation Services Act, 2002. This trust account is overseen by Guaranteed Funeral Deposits of Canada, which is an independent organisation that manages, invests and reports on funds for funeral services prearrangement contracts of Canadian consumers. Interest revenue is accumulated with the capital in trust to cover funeral expenses at death. This interest should not be declared and is only taxable if the funds held in trust are withdrawn to settle expenses other than funeral expenses.

Funds paid for prearranged funeral services are protected by a compensatory fund to which all Ontario funeral homes contribute. This fund is administered by the Board of Funeral Services, an Ontario regulatory body.

Please note that the amount that you have paid for your funeral services prearrangements plus accumulated interest, less administrative fees prescribed by law, may be reimbursed to you on request.

More and more people make the decision to complete their funeral arrangements ahead of time. Several reasons explain this fact. Here are the results of a recent poll showing the main reasons why people decide to complete these arrangements:
  • Ensuring that their last wishes with regards to the funeral are known;
  • Reducing the level of distress among family members and friends at this difficult time;
  • Savings and reducing tax;
  • Showing relatives that they care for them;
  • Sparing relatives a tax burden at death.

When you complete your funeral arrangements in advance, it is advisable to discuss them with your relatives and executor so that everyone knows your wishes. This will minimize any potential for ambiguity or conflict after your death.

To get all the information, options and an estimate of funeral service prearrangement costs, please contact a funeral director at our funeral home by telephone or email. If you wish, we can meet you at the funeral home, in the comfort of your own home or elsewhere, with no obligation.

The brochures below are available at the Lamarre & Son Funeral Home, just ask.

Funerals. A Celebration of Life
Funeral Etiquette
What Every Family Should Know
The Time to Plan A Funeral

Also, when you complete your funeral prearrangements, we will give you a booklet titled "To Make it Easier", which can be your personal information record about your estate. This tool helps to organize information related to your estate.



 

Copyright© 2009 All rights reserved. Lamarre & Son Funeral Home Home | Online Condolences | Services | Products | Resource Center | Policy | Login

a A

Doit-on planifier ses funérailles?

Nous savons tous qu’il vaut mieux agir aujourd’hui même afin de se préparer pour demain. La plupart d’entre nous procèdent de cette façon lorsqu’il s’agit d’aborder des points tels que la santé, la retraite ou nos finances. Cependant, souvent nous évitons de discuter de la planification de nos propres funérailles ou des funérailles d’un être cher. La planification funéraire n’a jamais été si facile. Nos directeurs de services funéraires peuvent vous aider à vous assurer que vos funérailles se dérouleront comme vous le désirez. Nous pouvons éviter à vos proches le fardeau de la prise de décisions difficiles durant ces moments de deuil.

Les funérailles sont un événement qui ne se produit qu’une seule fois dans la vie d’une personne. Elles méritent donc qu’elles soient marquées d’une façon qui durera.

Rencontrer un directeur de services funéraires afin de compléter ses arrangements funéraires au préalable consiste tout simplement à prendre connaissance des différentes options et de prépayer si désiré ses services, sa marchandise funéraire et les débours, le cas échéant. Une gamme de modalités de paiement est proposée, du règlement forfaitaire complet aux mensualités faciles que vous pouvez répartir de la façon qui vous plaira.

Les fonds versés à la Maison Funéraire Lamarre & Fils après la signature d’un contrat d’arrangements préalables de services funéraires, seront déposés dans un compte fiduciaire jusqu’à ce que le bénéficiaire du contrat décède, tel que prescrit par la Loi de 2002 sur les services funéraires et les services d'enterrement et de crémation. Ce compte fiduciaire est contrôlé par la Guaranteed Funeral Deposits of Canada, qui est une organisation indépendante qui gère, investit et établit des rapports sur les fonds des contrats d’arrangements préalables de services funéraires de consommateurs canadiens. Le revenu d’intérêts est accumulé avec le capital en fiducie afin de couvrir les frais des funérailles au décès. Ces intérêts ne doivent pas être déclarés et ne sont imposables que dans le cas de retraits de fonds en fiducie pour le règlement de tous frais autres que funéraires.

Les fonds versés pour des arrangements préalables de services funéraires sont protégés par un fonds compensatoire auquel toutes les maisons funéraires ontariennes contribuent. Ce fonds est administré par le Conseil de services funéraires, un organisme de réglementation ontarien.

Veuillez prendre note que les sommes que vous avez versées pour vos arrangements préalables de services funéraires ainsi que les intérêts accumulés, moins les frais d’administration prescrits par la loi, peuvent vous être remboursés si vous en faite la demande.

De plus en plus de gens prennent la décision de compléter leurs arrangements funéraires au préalable. Plusieurs raisons expliquent ce phénomène. Voici les résultats d’un récent sondage démontrant les raisons principales pour lesquelles les gens décident de compléter ces arrangements :
  • S’assurer de faire connaître ses dernières volontés en matière funéraire;
  • Réduire le niveau d’angoisse chez les membres de sa famille et les amis en ces moments difficiles;
  • Epargner et économiser des impôts;
  • Démontrer aux proches que nous nous soucions d’eux et;
  • Éviter aux proches un fardeau fiscal au moment du décès.

Lorsque vous complétez vos arrangements funéraires au préalable, il est recommandé d’en discuter avec vos proches et votre exécuteur testamentaire afin que tous sachent ce que vous désirez. Vous minimiserez ainsi tout risque potentiel d’ambiguïté ou conflit suite à votre décès.

Afin d’obtenir tous les renseignements, les options et une ou des estimations du coût des arrangements préalables des services funéraires, prière de communiquer par téléphone ou par courriel avec un directeur de service funéraire de notre maison funéraire. Nous pourrons, si vous le désirez, vous rencontrer à la maison funéraire, dans le confort de votre maison ou ailleurs, et ce, sans engagement.

Les dépliants ci-dessous sont disponibles à la Maison Funéraire Lamarre & Fils, vous n’avez qu’à les demander.

Les Funérailles Une célébration de Vie
Le Protocole Funéraire
Ce Que Toute Famille Devrait Savoir
Quand Doit-On Planifier Ses Funérailles?

De plus, lorsque vous complétez vos préarrangements funéraires, nous vous remettons un livret intitulé « Pour faciliter la tâche » lequel pourrait-être votre dossier personnel d’information concernant votre succession. Cet outil facilite ainsi l’organisation des renseignements reliés à votre succession.



 

Copyright© 2009 All rights reserved. Maison Funéraire Lamarre & Fils Accueil | Condoléances | Services | Produits | Centre de ressources | Politique | Login